ADSA is the Australasian Association for Theatre, Drama and Performance Studies. It is the peak academic body in the western Pacific region promoting the study of drama in any performing medium.

ADSA was formed in 1977 at the instigation of the late Dr Philip Parsons, senior lecturer in drama at the University of New South Wales. The original name was the Australasian Drama Studies Association. The association changed its name in 2003 to reflect the diversity of research and performance interests of the membership. However the acronym, ADSA, has been retained.

ADSA represents members of staff and postgraduate students of Australasian tertiary institutions who are engaged in teaching, research and practice in theatre, drama and performance studies. Directors of associated theatres and members of the theatrical profession are also active members. ADSA’s annual conference is usually held in July.

ADSA awards annual prizes for the best scholarly paper by an ADSA member (Marlis Thiersch Prize) and the best performance as research project by a postgraduate ADSA member (Philip Parsons Prize). The Rob Jordan Prize for the best book published by an ADSA member and the Veronica Kelly Prize for the best postgraduate paper at the annual conference are also offered.