Joanne Tompkins Prize for Excellence in Journal Editing

The Australasian Association for Theatre, Drama and Performance Studies has created a new award for Excellence in Journal Editing.

Purpose of the Award

The practices and processes of editing, be it long-term journal editing or convening special journal issues, play a key role in the shaping, enhancing, and even challenging the ways in which we can understand the inter-related fields of theatre, drama, and performance studies. Yet the role of editors is often overlooked. This prize recognises the contribution made by individuals or collaborative teams that lead and sustain editorial endeavours. More specifically, the Joanne Tompkins Prize recognises the editing of an ongoing journal or special issue.

The Joanne Tompkins Prize for Excellence in Journal Editing will be awarded once every four (4) years, starting in 2017. So in 2016 the Rob Jordan Prize for Best Book will be awarded, in 2017 the Joanne Tompkins Prize for Excellence in Journal Editing will be awarded, in 2018 the Rob Jordan Prize will be awarded and in 2019 the Peta Tait Prize for Excellence in Book Editing will be awarded. Thus the Joanne Tompkins Prize will be awarded in the following years:

  • 2017;
  • *2018 (the inaugural prize will be awarded in 2018 as there was no winner in 2017)
  • 2021;
  • 2025


Nominations will be accepted by editors who are self-nominating or by ADSA members who are nominating on behalf of editors. 

The nominators should provide a statement that consists of the following:

  • The name of the journal or special issue
  • The reason for the nomination (longevity of contribution, innovation in the field, impact)
  • Details of past editing projects where appropriate
  • For special issues: a brief statement about the importance of the issue
  • For series: a brief statement as to why the issues are relevant to the nomination

Nominees will be asked to provide:

  • For special issues: two copies of the special issue
  • For journal series: two copies of three separate issues


To be eligible, the edited journal(s) must be published in any of the FOUR years prior to the award of the prize (i.e. for the 2021 Joanne Tompkins Prize, judges will accept the nomination of journals published in 2017, 2018, 2019 or 2020). FOR THE INAUGURAL PRIZE, nominations will be extended back to 2009.

To be eligible, the editor must have been a member of ADSA in the year in which the journal or special issue was published, and in the year of award. In the case of jointly edited projects, at least one member should be a membersof ADSA in the year(s) stipulated (in this case, the prize money will be awarded to the member). Editors are not eligible to win the same prize consecutively.

Nominations should be received by the deadline in the year in which the prize is to be awarded: no later than 31 March 2021. Please send all nomination to the prize convenor Dr Bernadette Cochrane:

About Joanne Tompkins

Professor Joanne Tompkins is a Life Member of ADSA. Her research includes post-colonial, cross-cultural, intercultural and multicultural drama and theory; feminist performance; and space in historical and contemporary theatre. She is the author of: Theatre’s Heterotopias: Performance and the Cultural Politics of Space. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2014;Unsettling Space: Contestations in Contemporary Australian Theatre. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006. She is co-author of: Post-colonial Drama: Theory, Practice, Politics. London: Routledge, 1996 (with Helen Gilbert); Women’s Intercultural Performance. London: Routledge, 2000 (with Julie Holledge). She is editor of: “Space and the Geographics of Theatre,” a special issue of Modern Drama, 2004; “Theatre and the Canadian Imaginary,” a special issue of Australasian Drama Studies, 1996. She is co-editor of: Theatre JournalPerforming Site-Specific Theatre: Politics, Place, Practice. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2012 (with Anna Birch); “Site-Specificity and Mobility,” a Special Issue of Contemporary Theatre Review, 2012 (with Anna Birch); “Performance and Design,” a special issue of Australasian Drama Studies, 2012 (with Andrew Filmer and Miranda Heckenberg); Modern DramaDefining the Field. University of Toronto Press, 2003 (with Ric Knowles and WB Worthen).

Joanne Tompkins 2018 inaugural prize

Winner - Gillian Arrighi  and Victor Emeljanow for Popular Entertainment Studies

As anyone who has ever done it would know, starting a new journal is a massive undertaking, not to be undertaken lightly, because of the challenges involved in finding a definitive place in the field, the challenge of finding a readership in a saturated market, the challenges of attracting quality contributions from scholars at a range of career stages as the journal is establishing itself, as well as the sheer work of editing each issue. Established in 2010, and just as the field globally was moving towards online, open access, internationalised markets, Popular Entertainment Studies has achieved this and more. The work Victor Emeljanow and Gillian Arrighi have done in establishing a contributing readership, and a conceptual throughline emphasising the value of scholarship of entertainments once marginalised, has allowed Popular Entertainments Studies to become a distinctive contributor to the field globally. This journal, publishing contributions examining a range of historical and contemporary entertainment paradigms, and a range of artforms, is truly interdisciplinary and international in scope. It highlights the Australasian voice, and Australasian entertainment history and practice, to and within a global field.

Victor Emeljanow and Gillian Arrighi submitted three editions of Popular Entertainments: Volume 4, No. 2 (2013), demonstrated the scope and structure of the journal as well as its mix of Australasian and international authors; Volume 6, No. 2 (2015) was an example of the journal with the input of a guest editor, in this case, Dr Nic Leonhardt from LMU, Germany, who worked in tandem with Emeljanow and Arrighi; and finally, Volume 7, No 1-2 (2016) indicated the editors’ willingness to nurture research publications by new and emerging scholars, alongside the research outputs of senior scholars. ­­­­An example of the fantastic work Victor and Gillian have been doing in and beyond ADSA and of the strong voice Australasian researchers can, should, and do have in global publishing, it gives us great pleasure to award the inaugural Joanne Tompkins prize for journal editing to Victor Emeljanow and Gillian Arrighi for Popular Entertainment Studies

Past Winners

Copyright © 2020 ADSA