ADSA Awards for Outstanding Scholarship

ADSA recognises outstanding scholarship in different areas of theatre, drama and performance studies through the following awards:

  • Marlis Thiersch Prize for research excellence in an English-language article or book chapter published anywhere in the world in the broad field of theatre and performance studies.

  • Philip Parsons Prize for a senior student (honours or postgraduate) who has completed a performance as research project. 

  • Rob Jordan Prize for the best book on a theatre, drama or performance studies related subject published in the previous two years. Awarded biannually.

  • Veronica Kelly Prize for the Best Postgraduate Paper presented at an ADSA conference.

  • Geoffrey Milne Bursary to assist three eligible postgradutes to attend each ADSA conference.

  • ADSA Publication Subsidy Scheme to assist with the cost of publishing important scholarship on drama, theatre and performance practices in Australia, New Zealand or the Pacific.

  • Joanne Tompkins Prize for Excellence in Book and Journal Editing. Awarded biannually.

  • Peta Tait Prize for Excellence in Creative Projects and Scholarship Achievement over time. Awarded biannually. (NOT OPEN IN 2024)

  • Victor Emeljanow Bursary to assist an unfunded Early Career Researcher to attend and present at the ADSA conference.

  • Flinders University Ausstage Prize to recognise research excellence that utilises Ausstage in articles, books, and non-traditional digital outputs. 

Membership of ADSA is required to be eligible for these awards.

Prize nominations open: TBC
Prize nominations close: TBC

Please email ADSA Secretary Tessa Rixon ( if you have any questions regarding eligibility for, or adminstration of, ADSA's prizes. The nomination procedures differ for each prize, and can be found through the links above, along with details of the judging panels.